Episcopal Communicators is the descendant of an informal assembly of diocesan editors who met in New York in May 1971 at the invitation of the Episcopal Church Center's management team. They discussed what then appeared to be a credibility gap between the Church's leadership and its membership, a gap diocesan editors were feeling acutely.

Feeling that their concerns had been heard, their suggestions accepted, and that a new possibility for mutual cooperation in their ministry of communication had been opened up, the 11 editors decided it was important for them to remain in contact as a network, which they named the "Net-11."

The following year, they invited fellow Episcopal communication people to join them for a conference in Chicago. When 35 people came, the group decided it needed to become more serious and to undertake discussion as well as conduct a survey of the state of communication in the various dioceses.

By 1973, the group had grown sufficiently that it was necessary to adopt a name more reflective of the membership, and Episcopal Communicators was born. The organization today includes more than 200 people with communication responsibilities in the Episcopal Church at congregational, diocesan, regional, and national levels in both print and electronic media.

Episcopal Communicators is the link through which grassroots communicators and national staff work together to carry out the ministry of communication. The organization's annual meetings offer members opportunities to upgrade and enhance skills, to draw inspiration from outstanding speakers and theologians, and to support each other in fellowship.

Along the way, Episcopal Communicators has adopted statements that have become guidelines for its members and for the Church.

Richard Anderson    
Isabel Baumgartner
Polly Bond               
Salome Breck
Benjamin Campbell 
Larry Davidson
Stanley Gresley       
John Lockerby
Robert Reagan        
Herbert Scott     
Erwin M. Soukup

Those who assisted at the first Net-11 meeting in 1971
Margaret (Magee) Andersen
Sonia Francis
Henry McCorkle

Honorary Members
Burtis Dougherty
James R. McDowell

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software